Albany Pro Musica Artist Series presents:

10.29.17 @ 3:00PM

Across the Vast, Eternal Sky

The music of Ola Gjeilo, featuring the American String Quartet

Artist Website

  • A: $35
  • B: $25
Buy Tickets Now

The Artist Series opens Albany Pro Musica’s 36th season with an evocative concert featuring the music of Composer-In-Residence Ola Gjeilo.  Titles that launched his International fame, such as Ubi Caritas, Dark Night of the Soul and Across the Vast Eternal Sky are part of this inspiring program.  The American String Quartet will join Gjeilo on the piano after performing one of their signature masterworks:  Beethoven String Quartet Op. 95 in F Minor, Serioso.

Ola Gjeilo is one of the most frequently performed composers in the choral world. An accomplished pianist, improvisations over his own published choral pieces have become a trademark of his collaborations across the world. Although Norwegian by birth, it is perhaps Ola’s adopted country of America that has influenced the composer’s distinctive soundworld the most, evolving a style that is both contemporary and familiar; thick harmonies and rich textures recall film score – music that forms a major part of the composer’s inspiration.

INTERNATIONALLY RECOGNIZED as one of the world’s foremost quartets, the American String Quartet celebrates its 41st season in 2016–2017. Critics and col­leagues hold the Quartet in high esteem and many of today’s leading artists and composers seek out the Quartet for col­lab­o­ra­tions.